The New U2 Album

I stumbled across this story yesterday and thought I would share it for any other U2 fans out there:

U2 fans might be in for a surprise when the rockers release their next album, the follow-up to 2004’s How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb. Frontman Bono says people will “feel the difference,” revealing that the songs will have trance, metal and Moroccan influences. Bono told The Independent, “Normally when you play a U2 tune, it clears the dance floor. And that may not be true of this. There’s some trance influences.” Bono also said there’s some “very hardcore guitar” and “real molten metal coming from guitarist The Edge. He added, “It’s not like anything we’ve ever done before, and we don’t think it sounds like anything anyone else has done either.”

U2 started the album in Morocco last year and are now working through the demos. Bono said, “We have enough material for two albums but it has to be extraordinary. And I think we’ve got that.”

Well, I actually liked Pop — although, it certainly isn’t my favorite U2 album — and this sounds a lot like a Pop-style album. I’m just hoping the band won’t repeat the same mistakes that made it something of a commercial dud.

I also wonder how serious Bono is about this vague reference to having “two albums” worth of material. Part of me thinks it would be really cool for them to do something along the same lines as Stadium Arcadium, but I certainly wouldn’t be disappointed with a more traditional ten-song album either. I guess we’ll see.

New Old Song from U2

just stumbled across this on Popwatch:

The rough track was laid down during the Joshua Tree sessions circa ‘87, but the vocal wasn’t completed until “a few days ago,” Bono explains in the clip, whenever it was filmed… and, as of his pep talk here, the rest of the group hadn’t even heard the finished tune yet. The 1987-meets-2007 studio version, which boasts but one Bono vocal, is due next week on a two-CD deluxe reissue of The Joshua Tree. Here, on videotape, he discusses the trip he and wife Ali took to Ethiopia that inspired the lyric, asks whoever is filming him to start playback, and then sings along with himself… adding little interjections about the meaning of various lines, and references to what sounds like “the sowlms” (which I believe is Dublin-ese for the Psalms). It’s fun to know that occasionally, even two decades later, a band that still couldn’t find what it was looking for on a particular track can finally find some resolution.

I really like the idea of going back and finishing old songs like this.

Maybe this means there’s still hope for the band to go back and finish Pop the right way.

Merry Christmas, Zacky.

A Toot & a Snore in ‘74


Wanna hear a few cuts from the long-lost Lennon/McCartney recording session of 1974? Point your browsers over to this website, and download the following tracks:

1. A Toot and a Snore
2. Bluesy Jam Session
3. Studio Talk
4. Lucille
5. Nightmares
6. Stand By Me
7. Stand By Me (take 2)
8. Stand By Me (take 3)
9. Medley: Cupid / Working on the Chain Gang / Take This Hammer

Before you rush off and add these to iTunes, I’ll warn you that the only track here that actually resembles a cohesive “song” is the three-part medley “Cupid / Working on the Chain Gang / Take This Hammer.”

In fact, after hearing this, I think you’ll understand why this little reunion never went anywhere. If nothing else, it’s an interesting piece of musical history.